### **Obion County Board of Education**

### **Special Called Board Meeting**

## March 31, 2014

The Obion County Board of Education met in a special called session on March 31, 2014 at the Board of Education office. Board Chairman, Brian Rainey called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Mr. Fritz Fussell led everyone in prayer. Mr. Hollowell called the roll. Mr. Brian Rainey, Mr. Willis Easley, Mr. Fritz Fussell, Mr. David Lamb, Mr. Scott Northam, Mr. Tim Partin, and Ms. Diane Sanderson were present. Seven members were present. There was a quorum.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Upon the recommendation of Mr. Rainey, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.

#### **SELECTION OF NEW DIRECTOR OF SCHOOLS**

Prior to distributing paper ballots to the Board members, Chairman Rainey reminded them that a super majority of at least 5 members would be required to elect a new Director of Schools. Each of the seven (7) Board members cast their vote and the results were the following:

- Mr. Rainey Russ Davis
- Mr. Partin Russ Davis
- Mr. Lamb Greg Bondurant
- Mr. Easley Russ Davis
- Ms. Sanderson Russ Davis
- Mr. Northam Greg Bondurant
- Mr. Fussell Russ Davis

With the results of five (5) votes for Mr. Davis and two (2) votes for Mr. Bondurant, Mr. Rainey requested a unanimous courtesy vote. However, the voting results remained at five (5) for Mr. Davis and two (2) for Mr. Bondurant. Mr. Rainey then made a motion to go into contract negotiations with Mr. Davis. Mr. Easley seconded the motion. With Mr. Lamb and Mr. Northam casting the two (2) dissenting votes, **MOTION CARRIED** on a 5-2 vote.

Upon Mr. Rainey's request, a motion was made by Mr. Partin to grant permission to schedule a meeting with Mr. Davis and Board attorney, Jim Glasgow, Jr. to start contract negotiations. Ms. Sanderson seconded the motion.

# **MOTION CARRIED** on a 5-2 vote.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS/ADJOURN

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

The entire meeting was recorded and stored as an electronic copy.

The minutes were taken and typed by Diane Terry.

Brian Rainey, Chairman	Dale Hollowell and Nancy Hamilton
	Co-Director(s) of Schools